Take my picture Hollywood. I wanna be a STAR!

So, I watched the Grammys last night, as you can probably tell from all the spamming I did in our Twitterfeed, and I was struck by two things.

One, I am apparently shockingly out of touch with pop culture (which, y’know, is a bit of a disadvantage when you blog about it, but I think I’m going choose to think of it as being selective). I don’t have MTV and I don’t listen to the radio. EVER. I mean, I was aware of a lot of people there, but only in an abstract manner. Like for instance, I know that The Jonas Brothers are popular with tweens and that they have promise rings, but I couldn’t pick them out of a line up or tell you what songs they’ve made. I’m perfectly fine with not knowing this, but still. What I’m really confused about is who the hell this Kesha person is, and why does she look drunk all the time?

I probably don’t want to know that either, to be honest. But I think this is a perfectly good example of how modern media in general and the internet in particular allows us to pick and choose more freely what television and music we want to consume. Mars wrote something similar earlier on the subject of news, but I think the same can be applied to television and music as well.

Although I must admit, the whole reason for this entry was Lady Gaga’s performance. Seriously you guys. Holy shit. I have so much to say about this, but I don’t think I have the words, so just watch it.

Okay, so maybe I have one word. EPIC.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marple

Leave a Reply

